On the 5th Day of Christmas…Peppermint

17 Dec

My true love gave to me some sweet peppermint candies, four Christmas trees, three snowflakes, two snowmen and a house all lit up with bright lights. Did you read it to the tune of the song? I wrote it that way. :)

This is my take on a peppermint candy.  I water marbled this and it took a lot of trial and error to figure out how to do it.  I’m thrilled with the result though!  I’m in love with how my middle finger came out.If you look closely at the tip of my middle finger and on my pinkie, you can see a bit of swirl action.  I actually did a full swirl on my thumb and it looked bad, so I didn’t even take a picture.

I can almost taste peppermint in my mouth looking at these pictures.  Nevermind the fact that I just ate a peppermint candy.  What do you think?

9 Responses to “On the 5th Day of Christmas…Peppermint”

  1. jstosich0621 December 17, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Oh my, this one is so cute but looks so hard! I would probably have to try like 8 times.

    • TopCoatIt December 17, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      Thanks Jess! I actually wasted a good bit of polish trying to figure this out. I don’t know why it was so hard for me.

  2. Joya (Blanket Print Nails) December 17, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Omg, this is way too cute! And super creative, too. I never would’ve even thought of this idea to create a peppermint mani!

  3. Cheryl Cheryl December 17, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    omg. your nails look like actual peppermint candy pieces. THAT IS AMAZING!!! I can’t even imagine how you managed to do this. incredible.

  4. rins December 18, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Sweet! This turned out great! I always thought marbling should have more colors, BUT this one proved me wrong.

    • TopCoatIt December 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks Rins! Did you see that I did your Christmas tree ala dots? It turned out fabulously! Thanks for the tutorial!

  5. april December 19, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Fantastic!

  6. Nicole December 21, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    These are awesome! Did you happen to make a How-To tutorial? I’ve done water marbeling before but I just can’t figure out how you did this and I would love to do mine for xmas :)

    • TopCoatIt December 21, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      Thanks Nicole! I didn’t do a tutorial, but can kinda explain how I did it. I use a small 5oz paper cup when I water marble so keep that in mind. If you use a bigger cup or bowl you may need to make adjustments. I dropped in 2 drops of white polish then 2 drops of red. I use a shish kabob skewer to drag my polish. I put it in an inch or so past the tip so the fatter part of the skewer was doing the dragging in an effort to move more polish. I dipped in the center and dragged out to the sides of the cup, you know, like a star or how you would do a spider web. Then I dipped my skewer into the center of the red a few times until I pulled out enough polish to bring the red stripes together in the center. To swirl it I used the tip of the skewer and basically drew a circle about an inch from the center. Drawing the circle just kind of twists the red stripes around. Make sure your circle is big enough to fit the nail you are dipping. That’s it! I hope that makes sense. Please let me know if you have any other questions! This one took me a while to figure out.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

